The development of a perfume is absolutely comparable to the creation of any work of art, perhaps even more empirical than that of any other type of artistic or craft work.


    The perfumer is surrounded by a considerable number of odorous substances, mixing and dosing them, like a musician uses notes, following personal inspiration or experience to create a composition. Composing a fragrance is like creating an emotional symphony. Any composition considered art, be it a painting, a musical theme, a piece of literature, etc., must spark some reaction, an emotion or feeling. At its very best it makes the audience perceive reality differently than it did before experiencing it. Indeed, fragrance compositions do all these things brilliantly.
    Our perfumed history

    The term perfume is derived from the Latin "perfumum", which means "by smoke". It designates the odorous smoke released from resins burnt during votive rites. The earliest evidence of its use dates back to ancient Egyptians, frescoes, alabaster vases and terracotta artifacts found in pharaoh’s tombs. Indeed, perfume was then strictly reserved for the worship of the gods and the dead.

    Perfume’s history travels from Egypt to Greece, to Rome. Spices, incense and other perfume ingredients became available thanks to Alexander the Great’s conquests in the East, trading from China, India, Africa, Arabia. Animal-based scent ingredients – musk, ambergris – were used for the first time in Ancient Greece, adding a sensuousness to fragrance creation as well as lingering remanence.

    But modern perfumery is quite recent, dating to the late 19th Century mainly with the creation of synthetic ingredients and the dawn of great brand names and perfumers. Clearly, like in a painter’s pallet, the different ingredients, more commonly called “raw materials” in the perfume industry, will inspire the artist in his composition. This is why when making fragrances our perfumers consider raw material as being “emotional matter”.

    “Imagination is Queen of Faculties guiding the artist; it is imagination that has taught man the moral sense of color, of contour, of sound and of scent.” Charles Baudelaire

Le développement d'un parfum est absolument comparable à la création de toute œuvre d'art, peut-être encore plus empirique que celle de tout autre type de travail artistique ou artisanal.


    Le parfumeur est entouré d'un nombre considérable de substances odorantes, les mélangeant et les dosant, comme un musicien utilise des notes, suivant une inspiration ou une expérience personnelle pour créer une composition. Composer un parfum, c'est comme créer une symphonie émotionnelle. Toute composition considérée comme un art, qu'il s'agisse d'une peinture, d'un thème musical, d'une œuvre littéraire, etc., doit déclencher une réaction, une émotion ou un sentiment. À son mieux, elle fait que le public perçoit la réalité différemment qu'avant de la vivre. En effet, les compositions parfumées font toutes ces choses, et avec brio.
    Notre histoire parfumée

    Le terme parfum est dérivé du latin "parfum", qui signifie "par la fumée". Il désigne la fumée odorante dégagée par les résines brûlées lors des rites votifs. Les premières preuves de son utilisation remontent aux anciens Égyptiens, aux fresques, aux vases d'albâtre et aux objets en terre cuite trouvés dans les tombes des pharaons. En effet, le parfum était alors strictement réservé au culte des dieux et des morts.

    L’histoire du parfum voyage de l’Egypte à la Grèce, à Rome. Les épices, l'encens et d'autres ingrédients de la parfumerie sont devenus disponibles grâce aux conquêtes d'Alexandre le Grand en Orient, en provenance de Chine, d'Inde, d'Afrique, d'Arabie. Des ingrédients parfumés d'origine animale - musc, ambre gris - ont été utilisés pour la première fois dans la Grèce antique, ajoutant une sensualité à la création de parfum ainsi qu'une rémanence persistante.

    Mais la parfumerie moderne est assez récente, remontant à la fin du 19ème siècle principalement avec la création d'ingrédients synthétiques et l'aube de grandes marques et parfumeurs. De toute évidence, comme dans la palette d'un peintre, les différents ingrédients, plus communément appelés « matières premières » dans l'industrie du parfum, inspireront l'artiste dans sa composition. C'est pourquoi lors de la fabrication de parfums, nos parfumeurs considèrent la matière première comme une véritable « matière d’émotion ».

    « L’imagination est la reine des facultés qui guide l’artiste ; c’est elle qui a enseigné à l’homme le sens moral de la couleur, du contour, du son et du parfum. » Charles Baudelaire